Thanksgiving feast for all

I have to say…..I was quite pleased with myself for throwing a Turkey Day Feast together for my family at the last minute. My mother isn’t able to cook a huge meal like that anymore, so I wanted to do it. I also wanted to make sure we had her usual dishes.

I put myself  on a budget so I had to throw stuff from around the house together for a centerpiece: a pumpkin left over from Halloween, old candles, leaves from outside, homemade beaded napkin rings and an old plate holder.

I got too busy while cooking to take any pictures of the food, but here is my table:

 

The Menu:

Appetizers

  • Bacon-wrapped dates
  • BBQ turkey Lil’ Smokies
  • Cheese dip
  • Homemade tortilla chips
  • Homemade Jell-O punch
  • Cheese and olive tray
  • Nuts

Main Course

  • Pomegranate-glazed turkey with roasted potatoes and onions
  • Brown gravy
  • Creamed spinach
  • Maple-glazed sweet potatoes
  • Mandarin orange salad
  • Dressing
  • Buttered rolls

Dessert

  • Pumpkin pie
  • Homemade cinnamon walnut ice cream

All in all everyone had a good time and enjoyed the leftovers. What’s even better was that I sat and talked with my mom after everyone had left. She stayed the night at my house and asked the next day when she could do it again. This is what I am most thankful for. I got to spend one more holiday with my mom.

